Michigan Labor Press Association

Michigan Labor Press Award

The nominations will be reviewed by the nominations committee who will narrow the selection to no more than three. The full MLP Executive Board will make the final selection. The award will be presented at the MLP Spring Conference.

Previous winners and their titles at the time of the presentation:

1991   Frank Garrison, President of the Michigan AFL-CIO
1992   Fred Parks, Executive Director of the M.C.C.-SEIU
1993   Mike Handley, Assistant to the V.P. CWA District Four
1994   Aldo Vagnozzi, Detroit Labor News
1995   Owen Bieber, President UAW
1996   Nancy Brigham, UAW LUPA
1997   Elise Bryant, University of Michigan Labor Studies
1998   Dick Zmyslony, USWA
1999   Stan Drewno, UAW Local 387 Editor Emeritus
2000   Jeff Rechenbach, Vice President CWA District 4
2001   David Elsila, UAW Solidarity
2002   Jon Ogar, former AFL-CIO Director of Communications
2003   Susan Watson,
2004   Lasker Smith, Region 1A, Retirees
2005   Phil Helms, Editor AFSCME Council 25 Newsletter
2006   Len Ballosh UAW 467
            Tom Carlton CWA 4013
            Richard McInerney USWA 12934
2007   Ed Plotzke,
2008   Jennifer John, Solidarity Magazine
2009   Richard Leebove, President RL Communications
2010   Linda Culpepper, MI Corrections Organization
2011   George Waldman, Photographer
2012   Phil Thompson, Executive VP, SEIU 517M
2013   Steve Nobles, President Michigan Allied Printing Trades Council
            W. Edward Wendover
2014  Gerald Kariem, UAW Region 1D Director
2015  James Coleman, USW New Media
2016  Mark Gaffney, Teamsters

Additional Resources

Follow Us!

Michigan Labor Press Association Logo

Sign Up
Remember me